Governance Structure

Our school is operated by Pontefract Academies Trust.

The Trust was created under the provisions of the Academies Act 2010, as amended by the Education Act 2011. Its structure of governance is constituted under the Articles of Association. The Trust is an exempt charity by virtue of the Charities Act 2011.

The Funding Agreement between the Department for Education (DfE) and the Trust sets out the terms and conditions on which grant is made. The Trust Board is responsible for ensuring that the conditions of grant are met. As part of this process the Trust is required to have in place appropriate arrangements for sound governance, financial management, securing value for money and accounting, and for using public funds for the purposes for which they were intended by Parliament.

This Trust Board is accountable in law for all decisions about its schools. This does not mean that the Trust Board is required to make all of the decisions itself. Some decisions can be, and are delegated, including to SPRB, delegated officers, and other Trust Board established committees. The Scheme of Delegation sets out the framework which the Trust Board has approved.

All governance documentation for the Trust, including the Funding Agreement, Scheme of Delegation and Articles of Association can be found here.

Larks Hill J & I School and De Lacy Primary School SPRB

The Larks Hill J & I School and De Lacy Primary School SPRB is a sub-committee of the Trust Board and has various responsibilities delegated to it through the Pontefract Academies Trust Governance Policy and Scheme of Delegation.

The SPRB of Larks Hill J & I School and De Lacy Primary School is currently made up of:

Name Role Appointed By From To
D Wilkins Chair Trust Board Appointed Parent 05/10/2020 13/12/2024
J Parkinson Headteacher, De Lacy Primary School Ex-officio 01/10/2021 Not Applicable
T Hollies SPRB Member Trust Board 04/02/2014 31/08/2026
A Lunn SPRB Member Trust Board 07/03/2019 06/03/2027
A Dee SPRB Member Trust Board 17/09/2014 16/09/2026
K Adams Headteacher, Larks Hill J& I School Ex-officio 01/09/2022 Not Applicable
S Khan Vice Chair Trust Board 20/07/2021 19/07/2025

The Chair can be contacted at the following address:

De Lacy Primary School
Chequerfield Lane

or by email at


SPRB Current Register of Business Interests

  Role Name of business or organisation/educational organisation Nature of business or organisation Nature of interest Date of appointment of acquisition Date of cessation of interest
D Wilkins Chair None declared
J Parkinson Headteacher, De Lacy Primary School None declared
T Hollies SPRB Member Worker Education Association (WEA) Provider of Adult Education Employee 1995 N/A
A Lunn SPRB Member None declared
A Dee SPRB Member Poppletons Coaches Coach Operator Part-time Driver 01/09/2017 N/A
New Collaborative Learning Trust 6th Form College Director & Governor 2016 N/A
Carleton High School PTFA Secondary School Chairman and Trustee 2017 N/A
K Adams Headteacher, Larks Hill J & I School None declared
S Khan SPRB Member None declared

SPRB Membership & Attendance Summary 2022/23

From To Appointed by Meetings attended Out of a possible
Kara Adams (Ex Officio: Head of LHS) 01/09/22 N/A Ex Officio 5 5
A Dee 17/08/14 16/09/26 Trust Board 5 5
T Hollies 04/02/14 03/02/26 Trust Board 4 5
S Khan (Vice Chair) 20/07/21 19/07/25 Trust Board Appointed Parent 4 5
A Lunn 07/03/19 06/03/27 Trust Board 3 5
J Parkinson (Ex Officio: Head of DEL) 01/01/21 N/A Ex Officio 5 5
D Wilkins (Chair) 14/12/20 13/12/24 Trust Board 4 5